“I wrote over a dress” said J.K. Rowling and now Helda

I wrote about a dress!

Last night I was having a conversation with a friend of mine about writing, I told him that I have been suffering from writer’s block for the past two years and he said; “that’s not writer’s block. That’s laziness” Listen! That’s not what I wanted to hear, I wasn’t even ready for it but he is right and I appreciate him for being frank with me.

I decided to start writing again and what better way to make a comeback than with a story about a dress, or not, well, the truth is I couldn’t think of anything to write about except my late mother and that requires revisiting old memories and shedding tears which I am not ready for right now.

When I was in my Senior Six vacation, I used to spend my days watching Nigerian movies and Soap Operas on GoTV. My days involved doing two things;

  1. burning food (yap, I would forget that I was cooking, not even the smell of burning food would snap me out of my telenovela) My addiction to telenovelas is a story for another day but here is just a sneak peek, when I was at the university I used to carry my GoTv decoder to my friend’s hostel whenever there was a power shortage. Believe me, I am still embarrassed by this.
  2. Day dreaming about sexy Latina, Hispanic and Nigerian men; the likes of Van Vicker, William Levy, Mario Cimarro and having one of them sweep me off my feet. To be perfectly honest, good looking men have always been a weakness of mine and I have no idea how I tuned into a sapiosexual.

When my family realized that I was spending so much time watching TV they decided to give me a job at the Mobile Money Shop. Needless to say it didn’t end well for them because one day a good looking conman walked into the shop and because I was so enamored, I took out UGX 800,000 from the safe and gave it to him.

Ok back to the dress.


While I was watching E! I fell in love with a show called, “House of DVF” which tells the story of icon, mogul, designer and one of my favorite women Diane Von Furstenberg as she searches for her brand ambassador.

I saw DVF and instantly liked her, she was elegant, confident, fierce, intelligent, kind, understanding and such a BOSS! She was exactly the kind of woman that I wanted to be when I grew up, still is. I didn’t like her dresses, or rather I didn’t exactly understand the concept of the wrap dress.

I thought it was for a certain class of women, women like the girls on TV, not me, deep down I didn’t think I was good enough for her dress. I thought I was short, funny-looking, and bland and clearly, I couldn’t afford the damn dress!

Watching 16 episodes of that show did something to me, I feel in love with DVF and overtime fell in love with her dress, I started yearning for it. I made a vow that one day when I have the money, body, fine face and confidence I would buy and wear the DVF wrap dress, and guess what? I bought the dress, last year in December I bought my first wrap dress.

OK, technically I don’t exactly have the DVF dress, I still can’t afford it so I settled but I have a wrap dress. The face didn’t change, the body, well, it kind of did, I mean, damn it! I grew up and became fine wine but the point is I am at a place in my life where I feel confident about myself and actually love myself, that’s a huge success for me.

Leave a comment